On This Day In Pro Wrestling Title History: Chris Benoit, Larry Zbyszko, Eddie Guerrero, Ox Baker, Dory Funk Jr.

By Brian Hoops, WrestlingObserver.com

1908 – Gus Schoenlein defeated Fred Beell for the American Middleweight Title in Baltimore, Maryland.

1946 – The Swedish Angel defeated Everett Marshall to win the Rocky Mountain Heavyweight Title in Denver, Colorado.

1953 – Paul DeGalles and Tarzan Potvin defeated Bronko Lubich and Bud Rattal for the vacant Northwest Tag Team Title in Vancouver, British Columbia.

1957 – Rito Romero defeated Danny McShain to win the NWA Texas Junior Heavyweight Title in Fort Worth, Texas; Danny Plechas defeated Juan Garcia for the Rocky Mountain Heavyweight Title in Albuquerque, New Mexico

1960 – Torbellion Blanco defeated Pete Managoff in Houston, Texas for the NWA Texas Heavyweight Title.

1964 – Neff Maivia defeated Hard Boiled Haggerty to win the NWA Hawaii Heavyweight Title in Honolulu, Hawaii

Click Here: West Coast Eagles Guernsey

1966 – Al Costello defeated Alex Perez to win the NWA Southern Junior Heavyweight Title in Nashville, Tennessee

1967 – Pepper Gomez and Pedro Morales defeated Pat Patterson and Ray Stevens for the American Wrestling Alliance World Tag Team Title in San Francisco, California

1970 – Pantera Negra and Tony Rocco defeated Karl Heisinger and Kinji Shibuya for the NWA Americas Tag Team Title in Los Angeles, California.

1971 – Bobby Duncum and Woody Farmer defeated The Beast and Bulldog Brower to win the NWA Western States Tag Team Title in Amarillo, Texas.

1972 – Buddy Colt defeated El Mongol for the NWA Georgia Heavyweight Title in Griffin, Georgia.

1972 – Kinji Shibuya won the NWA Beat the Champ Television Title, defeating Don Carson.

1976 – The Mighty Canadian (Gene Kiniski) defeated The Super Destroyer to win the Amarillo NWA International Heavyweight Title in Amarillo, Texas

1978 – Ox Baker defeats Carlos Colón to win the WWC Puerto Rico Heavyweight Title in Caguas, Puerto Rico. At the same event, Invader I won the WWC Caribbean Heavyweight Title from Pierre Martel.

1979 – Greg Valentine defeated Dino Bravo for the Toronto NWA Canadian Heavyweight Title in Toronto, Ontario; Astro Rey defeated Dos Caras to win the Mexican National Light Heavyweight Title in Mexico City, Mexico.

1981 – Dory Funk, Jr. won the NWA Florida Heavyweight Title in Tampa, Florida, from Barry Windham.

1982 – Mark Romero (Youngblood) defeated Gene Lewis for the NWA Central States Television Title in Kansas City, Kansas

1986 – Jerry Lawler defeated Bill Dundee to win the AWA Southern Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee.

1988 – John Tatum and Jack Victory defeated Shaun and Steve Simpson for the World Class Texas Tag Team Title in Fort Worth, Texas

1989 – Chris Benoit and Biff Wellington defeated Makhan Singh (Mike Shaw) and Vokkan Singh (Gary Albright) in Calgary, Alberta to win the Stampede International Tag Team Title.

1990 – Larry Zbyszko defeated Mr. (Masa) Saito in St. Paul, Minnesota to win the AWA World Heavyweight Title

1991 – The Lightning Kid won the Pro Wrestling America Light Heavyweight Title in Fridley, Minnesota by defeating Jerry Lynn.

1995 – Eddie Guerrero defeated 2 Cold Scorpio in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania for the ECW World Television Title; Buddy Landel defeated Bobby Blaze to win the SMW Heavyweight Title in Johnson City, Tennessee.

1999 – Headbanger Mosh defeated Romeo Valentino for the Maryland Championship Wrestling Heavyweight Title in Dundalk, Maryland.

2000 – Yoshihiro Tajiri defeated Little Guido and Super Crazy in a three-way dance in Buffalo, New York to win the ECW World Television Title; Bouncer Bruno and Dutch Mantel defeated Black Boy and José Rivera, Jr. for the WWC World Tag Team Title in Guaynabo, Puerto Rico.

2002 – During a live Monday Night Raw episode from Phoenix, Arizona; Spike Dudley pinned WWF European Champion William Regal to win the title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *