Daily pro wrestling history (01/01): Bob Geigel wins Central States Title


Columbus, Ohio:
– Joe Banaski defeated Nick Bozinis to become the first Midwest Wrestling Association World Light Heavyweight Champion


Detroit, Michigan:
– The Great Mephisto defeated Walter Roxey to win the MWA World Light Heavyweight Title


Eugene, Oregon:
– Pete Belcastro defeated Ernie Piluso for the Pacific Coast Light Heavyweight Title 


St. Joseph, Kansas:
– Orville Brown beat Tom Zaharias 
– Ronnie Etchison beat Bad Boy Brown 
– Ras Samara beat Jay Steele 
– Mel Peters drew Frank Frogge


Columbus, Ohio:
– Billy Thom defeated Martino Angelo for the MWA World Junior Heavyweight Title 


Waco, Texas:
– Dizzy Davis defeated Antonino Rocca for the Texas Heavyweight Title 


Portland, Oregon:
– Jack O’Reilly defeated Buck Weaver to win the Pacific Coast Light Heavyweight Title


Mexico City, Mexico:
– El Santo defeated Sugi Sito for the NWA World Middleweight Title


Mobile, Alabama:
– Billy Wicks defeated Lee Fields to win the NWA Gulf Coast Heavyweight Title

Kansas City, Kansas:
– NWA World Heavyweight Champion Dick Hutton beat Bob Ellis 2 out of 3 falls
– The Dusek Brothers (Emil and Ernie Dusek) beat The Hamilton Brothers (Joe and Larry Hamilton) 
– Bobby Bruns and Lee Henning wrestled to a time limit draw
– Rip Hawk beat Joe Scarpa 


Fort Worth, Texas:
– Rocket and Sputnik Monroe defeated Duke Keomuka and Mad Dog Vachon to win the NWA Texas Tag Team Title 


Minneapolis, Minnesota:
– Ivan and Karol Kalmikoff defeated Mr. High (Doug Gilbert) and Mr. Low (Dick Steinborn) for the AWA World Tag Team Title
– Larry Hennig beat Karl Von Shoberg

– Art and Stan Neilson defeated Karl and Kurt Von Brauner to win the American Wrestling Alliance World Tag Team Titles


Amarillo, Texas:
– Dick Murdoch defeated The Lawman (Don Slatton) for the Amarillo NWA Brass Knuckles Title 

Omaha, Nebraska:
– Stan Pulaski defeated Tarzan Tyler for the AWA Midwest Heavyweight Title

Cleveland, Ohio:
– Bulldog Brower defeated Johnny Powers to win the NWF North American Heavyweight Title 

Kansas City, Kansas:
– The Stomper & Bob Geigel defeated Tor Kamata & Masao Komura 
– Ernie Ladd defeated Bob Brown 
– Ernie Ladd won a 14-man Battle Royal


St. Joseph, Missouri:
– Bob Geigel won the NWA Central States Heavyweight Title by defeating Roger Kirby 


Nashville, Tennessee:

– Rocket Monroe and Randy Tyler defeated Jackie Fargo and George Gulas to win the NWA Mid-America Tag Team Title 


Greensboro, North Carolina:
– Blackjack Mulligan defeated Ricky Steamboat to win the NWA United States Heavyweight Title


Atlanta, Georgia:
– Jack and Jerry Brisco defeated Dory Funk, Jr. and Terry Funk for the NWA Georgia Tag Team Titles


Memphis, Tennessee:
– Ricky and Robert Gibson won the AWA Southern Tag Team Title from The Assassins


Tokyo, Japan:
– Tiger Mask (Satoru Sayama) defeated The Dynamite Kid to win the vacant WWF Junior Heavyweight Title

St. Louis, Missouri:
– Dick the Bruiser defeated NWA Missouri Heavyweight Champion Ken Patera to win the title


San Antonio, Texas:
– Tully Blanchard defeated Bob Sweetan to win the vacant SCW Southwest Heavyweight Title

San Francisco, California:
– AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Pat Patterson
– Hulk Hogan beat Ken Patera

Portland, Oregon:
– The Assassin and Rip Oliver defeated Billy Jack (Haynes) and Stan Stasiak for the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Titles


Click Here: Atlanta United FC Jersey

Memphis, Tennessee:
– Jerry Lawler beat AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel dq 
– Southern Tag Team Champions Fabulous Ones ddq Moondogs
– Sabu (sub Jos Leduc) beat Austin Idol
– Bruise Brothers beat Terry Taylor & Stagger Lee
– Stretcher match: Rock and Roll Express beat A Team
– Dutch Mantell & Stagger Lee beat Giant Frazier & Terry Gibbs


Tampa, Florida:
– Jay and Mark Youngblood defeated Krusher Khrushchev and Jim Neidhart to win the Florida NWA United States Tag Team Titles


Tulsa, Oklahoma:
– Dick Slater defeated Butch Reed for the Mid-South North American Heavyweight Title 
– Jake Roberts won the Mid-South Television Title, defeating Dick Slater in the finals of a month-long tournament


Des Moines, Iowa:
– Masahiro Chono defeated Mike George to become the last NWA Central States Television Champion


Tokyo, Japan:
– Bull Nakano defeated Mitsuko Nishiwaki in a tournament final to win the vacant AJW title


Tokyo, Japan:
– Shinjiro Otani & Kamikaze beat Masato Tanaka & Yusaku Obata to win the NWA Z-1 Intercontinental tag team titles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *