2018 Chicago Marathon: Mo Farah, Brigid Kosgei Win 41st Running

CHICAGO — Mo Farah of Great Britain and Brigid Kosgei of Kenya were the first-place finishers in the Chicago Marathon on Sunday. Farah finished the race with an unofficial time of 02:05:11, while Kosgei ended with an unofficial time of 02:18:35.

The marathon’s 41st running was only the third marathon Farah had run, and the first on in the United States. In 2016, he won two gold medals at the Rio Olympics, as well as earning two gold medals at the 2012 London Olympics.

Farah held off first-time Chicago Marathon runner Mosinet Geremew of Ethiopia. He also beat U.S. runner and defending champion Galen Rupp, his former training partner.

Kosgei had come in second during last year’s Chicago Marathon. She also had finished second in this year’s London Marathon.

As in past years, the race was expected to attract more than 40,000 participants who will pass through 29 city neighborhoods as they navigate the 26.2-mile route. The marathon began and ended in Grant Park, and the course ran to Addison Street in the north, Damen Avenue in the west and 35th Street in the south.

Among wheelchair participants, Daniel Romanchuk of the United States placed first in the men’s division with an unofficial time of 01:31:34, and Manuela Schär of Switzerland finished first in the women’s division with a time of 01:41:38.

Go to the Chicago Marathon’s results page for unofficial times.

Mo Farah and Brigid Kosgei were the winners in the 2018 Chicago Marathon on Sunday, Oct. 7. (Photo by Michael Steele | Getty Images)

Click Here: new zealand rugby team jerseys

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *