Ashton names EEAS directors for Russia, Americas

Ashton names EEAS directors for Russia, Americas

Lajčák and Leffler first heads of EEAS departments to be appointed.

Click Here: Maori All Blacks Store



Catherine Ashton, the EU’s foreign policy chief, today (14 December) appointed two of the six managing directors who will lead the policy departments of the European External Action Service.

Miroslav Lajčák, until last year foreign minister of Slovakia, was appointed as head of the EEAS department dealing with Russia, eastern Europe and the Balkans. Christian Leffler, the European Commission’s deputy director for development, was appointed as head of the service’s Americas department.

Three more appointments are expected tomorrow.

“These two key appointments cover vitally important relationships for the EU with our neighbours and strategically important partners across the Atlantic,” Ashton said. “Miroslav and Christian will bring experience and authority to these key posts in the new External Action Service.”

Toby Vogel 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *